Money Matters

The Fijian dollar is the basic unit of currency and is available in denominations of FJD2, 5, 10, 20, 50 and 100 notes. Coins are 1c, 2c, 5c, 10c, 20c, 50c, and FJD$1. Visitors can change traveller's cheques and foreign currency at banks and larger hotels/resorts. Credit cards are widely accepted. Banking hours in Fiji are from 9:30am to 3:00pm Mondays to Thursdays and until 4pm on Fridays, and 09:30am to 12noon on Saturdays at selected areas. There is an ANZ currency exchange service at the arrivals concourse at Nadi Airport, which is open 24 hours. ATM machines are located around the country and larger Resorts and Hotels for convenience.

Tipping is not encouraged in Fiji and it is left to the individual to determine whether to make a gratuity acknowledging better service.

A 15% Government Value Added Tax (VAT) is applicable on all goods and services in Fiji. Visitors staying in Hotels and Resorts around Fiji are subject to a 5% Hotel Turnover Tax (HTT) on all goods and services.

Departure Tax
Visitors to Fiji are required to pay $150.00 departure tax in Fijian currency. Fom 1 Jan 2014 this will increase to FJ$200. This departure tax is usually included in your air tickets. Children under 12 are exempt.