Fiji Communication and Timezone

Country Code/ Communications
The country code is +679. Fiji does not have area codes. Most hotels and resorts have direct dialling facilities (IDD). Card phones are also available in urban centres and can be bought from any shop that has the Telecom Call card signage. Cell phone coverage on most islands is readily available. Vodafone Fiji Ltd. Operates a GSM digital mobile communications service. Please check with your network operators for roaming status before travelling to Fiji, otherwise cell phones and/or sim cards are also available for hire or for purchase upon arrival.

Internet Access
Internet access is readily available on most islands and at many hotels and resorts.

Language
Fiji has three official languages – Fijian, Hindi and English. English is widely spoken throughout Fiji. Almost everyone you meet speaks and understands English, while staff at hotels and resorts are fluent.

Time Zone
The 180th Meridian passes through the Fiji Islands although the International Dateline is adjusted so that the entire archipelago falls into the same time zone. Fiji is 12 hours ahead of Greenwich Mean Time (GMT), and is dependent on Daylight Saving Time (DST) around the world. Fiji does not observe Daylight Saving Time.

When it is 09:00am in Fiji it is:
" 6am in Japan - same day " 1pm in Los Angeles - previous day
" 6am in Korean - same day " 4pm in New York - previous day
" 7am in Sydney - same day " 9pm in London - previous day
" 9am in Auckland - same day " 10pm in Frankfurt - previous day